Live Location lets Messenger users temporarily share an location with friends

By  |  0 Comments

Facebook has rolled out a new function for its Messenger application. The feature allows users to proportion brief stay places within the messenger itself so that your family or your buddy can discover you. Apple gives comparable location sharing features with other iPhone customers through find My friends and Messages, however facebook’s new live area feature in Messages works throughout both iOS and Android.

With an update that need to be had for every body to down load proper now, facebook is permitting Messenger users to briefly share their place with one friend, or a collection of friends. By means of default, the vicinity might be shared for 60 minutes. If making a decision to forestall sharing, you could achieve this at once. Let’s be grateful facebook didn’t allow this feature permanently if someone forgot to show it off.

facebook-messenger-live-location

The location function was available on the app until 2015 as an automated feature, however the organisation decided to cast off it. If you want to use the brand new stay location, you want to faucet the location icon in the app. the option can be to be had within the ‘extra’ tab. The live location feature is now to be had globally.

Facebook describes how it works below:

  • To share your Live Location in a message on iOS, tap the Location icon or tap the More icon and then select Location.
  • With today’s update, you’ll see a map of your current location and the option to tap a blue bar to share your Live Location.
  • If you choose to share your Live Location, the person or people you share it with will be able to see where you are on a map for the next 60 minutes.
  • You’ll be able to see an estimate of how long it would take to get to others’ locations by car. (The ETA is seen by the person with whom the location is shared.)
  • You can stop sharing your Live Location at any time; just tap Stop Sharing.
  • A small clock in the lower right hand corner of the map will also let you know how much longer you’re sharing your location for.